I Need a Misdemeanor Lawyer in Georgetown
Williamson county, Texas has a reputation for being extra tough on crime. I get it. Many lawyers won’t take cases here. A lot of clients have told me they’re afraid of the Williamson County prosecutors. They’ve even WISHED they had gotten arrest in Travis county.
Anywhere but Wilco. It’s the reputation that the county has built. That may be right, and that may be wrong. Williamson county and Travis county each have their own quirks. Georgetown is the County seat of Wilco and it’s where the courthouse is.
Some types of cases are treated much differently in Wilco vs. Travis county. For example, many people in Travis county see Possession of Marijuana as something that “no one gets arrested for.” Especially if that’s a small amount, right? That’s not the case in Wilco. Possession of marijuana under 2 ounces is a misdemeanor. So is DWI, between .08 to .15 and over .15 if it is your first or second offense.
What is a misdemeanor in Texas?
Misdemeanors come in steps. Unfortunately, that number is higher than a 2 step. In Texas, a misdemeanor is a criminal charge where the range of punishment can be from:
- Class C Misdemeanor – $500.00 fine and no jail
- Class B Misdemeanor – Up to $2,000 fine and/or 6 months in jail
- Class A Misdemeanor – Up to $4,000 fine and/or 1 year in jail.
Higher level charges are called felonies. The jail punishment for felonies range from 6 months to LIFE. These can be State Jail Felonies up to First Degree Felonies.
What can you expect during a misdemeanor charge?
Well, it all depends on what type of criminal charge it is AND what level of misdemeanor. Let’s start with what you can expect on your first court date, whether it’s a misdemeanor or felony. If it’s a Class B or A misdemeanor, including DWI, you can usually expect a deferred adjudication probation, unless it’s a DWI. YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR A DEFERRED ADJUDICATION ON A DWI. Period.
However, a deferred adjudication may also include a fine, court costs, and supervision fees. So, when someone says “I need a misdemeanor lawyer in Georgetown”, don’t worry you probably won’t be facing life in prison. At least not for a misdemeanor charge!
How much is it going to cost?
This is the big question on everyone’s mind. I know hiring a lawyer isn’t cheap. With that in mind, I try to keep my fees reasonable. I also know that we all have bills to pay. The cost can vary from case to case between legal fees, fine, court costs, and probation supervision fees. If it’s a B misdemeanor the fine is capped at $2,000 and if it’s an A misdemeanor it’s capped at $4,000. In some cases, if property was damaged, you may be required to pay for the replacement of the property.
Should you hire a lawyer?
Of course you should. Is it expensive? Yes. Is it also worth it? Yes.
Deciding whether or not to hire a lawyer can be a big decision in your case. If you can’t afford one, the Court will appoint you one. If you’re going to hire one, it will give you a shot at the best outcome possible. A lawyer can looks at holes or mistakes by the police and their case against you. This can help you during plea bargaining. This may also mean avoiding a conviction on your criminal record. Consider all of these things. And if you’re looking for the cheapest price possible, just remember, like everything else in life – you get what you pay for.
Feel free to comment below and ask questions.